Tropical Souffle Pudding inspired by Joy the Baker

Summer summer summer. That’s all I can think about. I have fifteen days left of school. Fifteen! And they expect me to pay attention in class? Funny joke. My mind is on baking.

I’ve been making a lot of layer cakes lately. Layer cakes are my favorite thing to make- there’s just so much you can do with them, and then you get to decorate them any way you like! I’m working on making the outer layer of icing as smooth as possible, and am trying to find a really good fudge frosting recipe. So expect a few cake recipes very soon.

But today is all about the pudding. Two-layered tropical souffle pudding.

The original recipe in Joy the Baker’s cookbook (aka The Bible) is for grapefruit souffle pudding, but I have a strong aversion to grapefruit. The flavor just isn’t my favorite. Plus I had no grapefruits! What I did have was limes, and a lot of them, leftover from when I asked my dad to buy them for my Coconut Lime Baked Donuts. I also had pineapple juice, and coconut oil. And this was the result:

Tropical Souffle Pudding Teenage Cakeland

Tropical Souffle Pudding!

The predominant flavor was lime, because lime zest is ground into the sugar for the purpose of bringing out that flavor. The coconut oil did not have an effect at all really, so if you’d like that flavor in there, I recommend adding some coconut extract or toasted coconut to the batter. The pineapple was hinted at, but not huge, which was fine because I don’t particularly like pineapple, either. It was a nice, soft lime flavor.

The recipe works with the egg yolks and whites differently. The yolks are mixed in the first part of the batter with most of the ingredients to create a very soupy liquid. Make sure you scrape the bottom of the stand mixer to incorporate all of the components! This mixture is then transferred to another bowl, and the bowl of the stand mixer is completely washed and dried before beating the egg whites with cream of tartar and a bit of sugar until stiff peaks are formed. The egg whites must be folded very gently into the rest of the batter, in order to retain the fluffiness.

A water bath is utilized to make sure the puddings bake evenly.

It all sounds a little complicated, but it’s really not, once you start making it. The result is a light, fluffy souffle top and a moist pudding bottom.

Tropical Souffle Pudding Teenage Cakeland

My dad summed up these souffle puddings very well: absolutely delicious.

Tropical Souffle Pudding inspired by Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tbs sugar
  • 2 tbs lime zest
  • 3 tbs coconut oil
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 cup almond, soy, or dairy milk
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Place six greased ramekins or one 9-inch baking dish inside a roasting pan. Bring water to a boil in a teapot for a water bath.
  2. Place the zest and 3/4 cup sugar into a small bowl. With the back of a spoon, work the zest into the sugar. This will make the flavor more prevalent.
  3. Beat the coconut oil with the fragrant sugar for one minute in a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Add the egg yolks one at a time at medium speed, beating each until just incorporated, and then for about two minutes, until lighter in color and fluffy.
  4. Add the flour and salt and beat until combined. On medium speed, alternate adding the milk with the pineapple juice, beginning and ending with milk. Continue mixing until combined, scraping the bottom and sides of the bowl as needed to make sure all of the sugar mixture is incorporated. The batter will be very liquidy. Set aside.
  5. Clean and dry the bowl and paddle. Beat the egg whites on medium-high speed until frothy. Add the cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form, then gradually add the sugar and continue beating until stiff peaks form.
  6. Fold the egg whites into the rest of the batter gently, so as to retain the fluffy texture, in three additions.
  7. Divide all the batter between the six ramekins or pour into the large baking dish. Place the roasting pan, with the ramekins or baking dish inside, onto the middle rack of the oven. Pour the hot water from the teapot into the pan until it reaches halfway up to where the batter is. Push the pan into the center of the oven and bake 30-35 minutes for the ramekins or 35-40 minutes for the large dish. The top of the souffle will be lightly browned and an inserted tootpick will come out clean.
  8. Serve warm or at room temperature, preferably the day it is made.

Conclusions:

The night I made these puddings, they were absolutely sensational. The flavor and texture were both spot on, although I did have a lttle trouble telling when they were ready. I liked the light fluffiness of the top part and how when you broke through that layer there was a cute little pudding underneath. It was like a surprise inside (although I already knew)! But truly, eat these the day they are made. The texture just gets a little less light after being placed in the fridge for a few hours, especially when they are not given time to come to room temperature again. The flavor is still delicious, though. Limey and yummy. Summery. If it weren’t raining right now, it would feel just like summer.

Tropical Souffle Pudding Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Sundays with Joy

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create

Be Betsy’s Brag About It

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

The Taylor House’s Pinterest Power Party

Hope In Every Season’s Homemaking Party

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

A Handful Of Everything’s Great Idea Thursdays

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

My Fashion Forward Blog’s All Things Pretty Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

38 thoughts on “Tropical Souffle Pudding inspired by Joy the Baker

  1. Totally agree with you on the school thing. My history teacher is like, why aren’t you paying attention? And I’m like sorry, just brainstorming new cupcake flavors! Yeah, they love me. This looks so delicious!

  2. Those look so good and perfect for summer! I am done school in about two weeks and I am totally in summer mode too. Too bad I have finals this week- those should be fun!! (not)

  3. Hi!

    We know the truth now! School is OK and baking is GREAT! Glad to see you took time out of your busy schedule to share a wonderful recipe.

    We wanted to thank you also for sharing this on BeBetsy BRAG ABOUT IT Tuesday – our readers will eat it up! LOL Hope to see you again and hang in there because school is almost over with.

    Sharon and Denise
    BeBetsy

    • Baking is definitely above school on my list of priorities! Fortunately, my last AP is tomorrow, and I’m one step closer to freedom! Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comments 🙂

  4. that sounds so lovely!! Yummy! Thanks for linking up to Tasteful Tuesdays and for the link back :o) Can’t wait to see what you bring next week. Emily @ Nap-Time Creations
    oh, and I just posted looking for some help with my blog… maybe you can offer some advice?

    • Thanks! I signed up to cohost a party at the end of July 🙂 I saw your post, and unfortunately I do not make any money from my blog bc it’s not self hosted, and it’s very new so I don’t have many followers or experience. I wish I could offer more help 😦 good luck!

  5. Oh my goodness! These look fabulous! I have not made a souffle before. It’s on my bucket list and I’m loving the flavors that you picked. Refreshing and perfect for summer! Mmmm. I will be featuring this great recipe @ Great Idea Thursday’s! Krista @ A Handful of Everything

  6. Pingback: Make Bake Create Party #9! Link Up Here! - Bubbly Nature Creations

Leave a comment