Leftover Frosting Cookies

I don’t like to waste food. If I have something in my kitchen that I’m not going to eat, I’ll use it to make something else (and eat that instead).
I always somehow end up with extra frosting. Just like a half cup or something that I’m probably not going to need in the near future. Why should it go to waste? Leftover frosting should be turned into leftover frosting cookies.

Leftover Frosting Cookies Teenage Cakeland
It’s just the circle of life. Nature. Evolution.

20130328-210113.jpg
I used a mixture of half peanut butter buttercream and half storebought vanilla frosting, but any type of frosting can be used. Mix it up. Even throw some sprinkles in there.

Leftover Frosting Cookies Teenage Cakeland
These cookies are very light and soft in the middle, plus they form perfect spheres if you scoop them that way, so they’re perfect for presentation.
Have fun with these little guys 🙂

Frosting Cookies from The Caramel Cookie

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup frosting
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and grease.
  2. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda in a stand mixer.
  3. Beat egg and add in frosting, vanilla, and sugar.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix well until combined.
  5. Use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to drop dough onto the baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. These cookies will not spread!

Conclusions: This was a very worthy experiment. I was surprised that the cookies didn’t spread at all, so they ended up in neat, rounded cookie balls that were soft on the inside. I used leftover peanut butter buttercream, so my cookies hinted of peanut butter, but the taste wasn’t overwhelming. My lucky friend whose house was chosen to recieve these informed me that they were gone within just a few hours 🙂 These aren’t the most fantastic cookies in the world, but they’re light and airy and tasty and a really tasty way to use up extra frosting.

Leftover Frosting Cookies Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

23 thoughts on “Leftover Frosting Cookies

  1. Awesome! Man, you’re right, I am always trying to figure out what to do with the leftover frosting! Thanks for the idea. I’m sharing my Fresh Strawberry Cream Torte today for my Homemaking Linkup. I hope you’ll join us if you haven’t already!

    Blessings,
    Mrs. Sarah Coller

  2. Wow! I have never even thought to try leftover frosting cookies, and I have several jars in my cupboard! Trying this one soon! Thanks for linking up on Make Bake Create!

  3. What a fabulous idea! I hate wasting things and when you use frosting there always seems to be some left over. I think this is simply wonderful! Krista @ A Handful of Everything

  4. Pingback: Cake Scrap Cake Truffles | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a Reply

