Guest Post: S’more Brownies

AP Chem final: done. Phew. I feel like a two ton weight has been lifted from my chest and a can take a nice, deep breath. Until next week, when I take the actual AP exam, that is.

And with my badminton season winding down, I can start baking on school nights again! Yay!

As for now, my friend Sophia from Sophia’s Sweets has shared these delicious looking S’mores Brownies with us! A major event in my life was me going to the Dollar Tree the other day and buying two bags of mini marshmallows. My parents do not buy me marshmallows. So now I’m all excited to have marshmallows in my house, and I can actually make these yummy treats! Thank you so much, Sophia, for sharing these S’mores Brownies 🙂 Check out Sophia’s blog, Sophia’s Sweets, for more amazing recipes like this one!

S'more Brownies Teenage Cakeland

Hello! Thanks so much to Dru for letting me share one of my favorite recipes on her lovely blog! We met through a Facebook group with several other teenage foodie bloggers and have enjoyed exchanging recipes and chatting about baking with each other. I’m Sophia from Sophia’s Sweets, a 15-year-old baker in New York City. I love baking all sorts of sweet treats for my family and friends and trying out new recipes!

As a high school student, some of my biggest pastry consumers are my friends. While they will love just about anything I bring them (hello, free baked goods!), I try to come up with new things all the time. Last week I was going to a test review session after school and decided to bring something new – s’more brownies!

These brownies are more on the cake-y end when baked plain, but with the marshmallows baked in, they become wonderfully gooey. Add in chocolate chunks that get all melty and graham cracker pieces for crunch, and you have a delicious brownie! These are the kind of treat just about anybody will love – they are sophisticated enough to be enjoyed by foodies, but also use classic flavors that kids enjoy. I couldn’t get enough of them, and neither could my friends!

S'more Brownies Teenage Cakeland

S’more Brownies by Elizabeth Falkner from The Making of a Pastry Chef

Yield: 14-16 (really large) brownies, 10×14” pan

Ingredients

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 ¼ cups butter
  • 10 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ cup graham crackers, broken
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows
  • 3 oz milk chocolate, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. In a thick-bottomed saucepot, combine the sugars, butter, and bittersweet chocolate over medium heat. Stir until melted and smooth. Add eggs and whisk until smooth.

2. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Whisk this dry mixture into the chocolate mixture.

3. Stir in the graham crackers, marshmallows, and milk chocolate pieces. Pour mixture into a greased pan 10×14 pan.

4. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until the top begins to crack. Cool and cut.

S'more Brownies Teenage Cakeland

Photobucket

Link Parties:

Mrs. Happy Homemaker’s Bulletin Board

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Hope In Every Season’s Homemaking Party

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

The Taylor House’s Pinterest Power Party

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

A Handful Of Everything’s Great Idea Thursdays

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

27 thoughts on “Guest Post: S’more Brownies

  1. Great guest post! You girls are so talented – it makes me feel old to think I’m twice your age, lol. And needless to say I’m drooling over these decadent brownies. Good luck on your exams, Dru!

  2. Yum. I love brownies of any kind, and these look divine… but believe it or not I’ve never eaten s’mores! As an Aussie, I probably only toasted my first marshmallow one year ago (aw, sad deprived child) so maybe in a year or two I might venture into the melted-marshmallow-on-graham-crackers-with-chocolate territory 😉 Not that we can actually buy graham crackers over here… I’ll probably have to bake my own!

  3. Oh yum, those look awesome! Thanks for linking with MBC! Hope you’re having a nice week. I’ve posted the new Homemaking Party for the week and would love to have you link up, if you’d like!

    Blessings,
    Mrs. Sarah Coller

  4. I’m featuring you today at the Make Bake Create party—there’s a featured button within the post if you’re interested!

  5. Pingback: Banana Nutella Bars | Teenage Cakeland

  6. These look so good! I love the idea of making smores into a brownie. It really is the perfect way to eat them. All contained in chocolately goodness. Thank you so much for linking up this great post @ Great Idea Thursday’s! Krista @ A Handful of Everything

Leave a comment