Drastically Altered Seven Layer Bars

Hi, everyone!

Some exciting news: I’ve been nominated for two blog awards, the Super Sweet Blogger Award (by Carissa from At 350 Degrees) and the Liebster Award (by Summer from Mallow&Co)! I’m so honored and excited, since my blog is really young, so thank you with all my sugar filled heart! I have to do a little research and nominate a bunch of other bloggers, so look out for my post soon!

Also, Carissa and I are trading guest posts this weekend! Click here to see my guest post on her blog and here to see her beautiful 5-Layer Ferrero Rocher cake!

I thought I’d let everyone know a little more about me, if you’re new or if you’ve visited before.

I’m a junior in high school, and I’ve been baking since my freshman year. It’s become one of the best and most important things in my life, so much that I often neglect my history homework to make a cake instead. The best thing about baking for me is being able to make people happy. It’s incredible how some chocolate and a smile can impact a person’s day. Obviously, I don’t eat everything I make or I would weigh more than an elephant does, so I usually bring things in for my friends at school. I’ve been known to show up in English with cupcakes at least once a week, and to approach complete strangers in the hallway to offer them a cookie. Plus, I’m pretty sure I’m maintaining a decent average in Physics mostly because my teacher is a major fan of my baking.

My blog is just a baby at a month old, but the experience of blogging has already made me a more conscious and creative baker. I have lots of ideas for the future, starting with these seven layer bars! There are actually three names for this dessert: seven layer bars, magic cookie bars, and Hello Dolly bars. Why? No one seems to know. However, a cookie by any other name would taste as sweet.

IMG_5502

Love them, because they already love you.

Magical Seven Layer Bars

Ingredients

  • 2 tbs melted butter or applesauce
  • 20 Oreos, crushed in a food processor or blender
  • 1/2 cup Fluff or mini marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper and grease with Pam.
  2. Combine crushed Oreos with butter or applesauce and press gently into the bottom of the pan.
  3. Microwave Fluff for 30 seconds or until liquidy and drizzle on top of crust, or sprinkle mini marshmallows all over crust. The Fluff re-hardens quickly, so you may need to pop it back into the microwave again.
  4. Sprinkle on chopped pecans.
  5. Microwave peanut butter for 30 seconds or until liquidy and drizzle over the pecans.
  6. Sprinkle chocolate chips and then coconut onto the peanut butter.
  7. Drizzle sweetened condensed milk as the final layer.
  8. Bake 25-30 minutes, until the top has lightly browned. Let cool completely and cut into bars.
  9. Practice self control.

IMG_5362

Conclusions: I loved these. Originally, I made them in a loaf pan and cut the recipe in half to test it, and ended up eating the entire batch (whoops). I’ve only had bona fide seven layer bars once, and I knew I needed to make them myself. These certainly fulfilled my craving.

IMG_5364

Link Parties:

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Mrs. Happy Homemaker’s Bulletin Board

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Still Being Molly’s YOLO Mondays Link-Up

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Trick or Treat Tuesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

DC In Style’s Spice Thursday

3 thoughts on “Drastically Altered Seven Layer Bars

  1. Pingback: Baking Bucket List | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a comment