Cloud Nine Pie

Have you heard? I made a pie! My very first real pie ever!

And what a beautiful pie it was:

IMG_5501

<3<3<3

I bet you’re wondering what was in this oh-so-amazing pie. I’ll let you into the loop.

Coconut. AND, the secret surprise inside: pecans.

This was a really great pie.

I was inspired to make this pie while flipping through The New York Times Cookbook, looking for their famous chocolate chip cookie recipe (sadly, the cookie recipe wasn’t there!), and came across the pie section. I decided it was high time for me to make a pie.

Originally, it was just going to be a coconut cream pie, but on a whim, I decided to throw in some pecans. Pecans are one of my absolute favorite things, ever. Like, really, ever.  The pecan layer is actually just something created on the spot. Aren’t I cool.

It all started with a carefully prepared crust. If you missed my pie crust post from yesterday, check it out here.

However, I did make a slight alteration to the original recipe. I substituted 1/2 cup pecans, finely crushed, and 1/2 whole wheat flour for one of the cups of all purpose flour. It was reeeaallyyy yummy and I recommend you do this, too.

After making the crust, I made the pie filling, consisting of three layers: a short layer of (loosely termed) pecan pie filling, coconut cream custard, and a meringue to top it off.

I told you this was a great pie.

For the pecan layer: combine three tablespoons sweetened condensed milk, two tablespoons brown sugar, and 1 teaspoon vanilla, then pour over the bottom of the pie crust as evenly as possible. Add more liquid if necassary. Then align about 3/4 cup chopped pecans all over the crust. Drizzle the whole thing liberally with honey.

IMG_5485

Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. If you are not done with the coconut custard by then, remove from the oven and set aside.

For the custard layer: I had never made custard or pudding homemade before this, so I was running around trying to do about three things at once to make sure nothing burned. But it was for naught. Stay calm (and eat some chocolate).

The recipe requires scalded milk. I discovered this means the milk needs to be heated in a double boiler almost to the point of boiling, so that it is frothy-looking with bubbles around the edges. Stir it periodically so it doesn’t burn. Or, it can be scalded in the microwave, if you check on its frothiness every twenty seconds.

Meanwhile, mix 1/4 cup of the sugar with the cornstarch and salt. When the milk has scalded, add it to the sugar mixture, then add a tablespoon of butter. Heat the whole thing in a double boiler, stirring constantly, until it has thickened a bit.

IMG_5482

Next, beat two egg yolks (save the whites for the meringue), and add a little of the milk mixture. Beat this, then add to the remaining milk mixture and cook until it has thickened to about the consistency of pudding, stirring all the while.

IMG_5487

Add the vanilla and 1/2 cup coconut, then pour into the pie shell on top of the pecan layer.

Now make the meringue. Beat the egg whites until they are foamy and beat in the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar.

IMG_5490

When the meringue is stiff, but still fluffy, pour it over the custard layer.

IMG_5491

Make sure the meringue touches the pie crust at all points.

IMG_5492

Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup coconut on top, and bake at 325 degrees for about fifteen minutes or until lightly browned on top.

Now that wasn’t too hard, was it? Easy as triple-layered pie.

IMG_5495

Cloud Nine Pie inspired by The New York Times Cookbook by Craig Claiborne

Crust

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup finely crushed pecans
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup shortening or butter
  • 1/3 cup water, or as needed

Click here for instructions!

Pecan Layer

  • 1 tbs sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans
  • Honey
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine first three ingredients and spread on the bottom of the pie crust.
  3. Arrange pecans over the liquid. Drizzle liberally with honey.
  4. Bake for twenty minutes. Remove from oven and set aside until other layers are ready.

Coconut Custard Layer

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tbs cornstarch
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 cups milk (I used skim)
  • 1 tbs butter
  • 2 egg yolks (save white for the meringue!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup grated coconut
  1. Scald milk: heat in a double boiler, stirring constantly, until frothy. Or, heat in the microwave, stirring every 2o seconds, until frothy.
  2. Combine sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Gradually add scalded milk. Add butter.
  3. Cook in the double boiler, stirring constantly, until it has thickened.
  4. Beat the egg yolks. Add a little of the milk mixture, stir, then add this to the rest of the milk mixture. Cook this in the double boiler, stirring until it has thickened to about the consistency of pudding.
  5. Add the vanilla and coconut, give it a quick stir, and pour into the pie shell on top of the pecan layer.
  6. Reduce oven to 325 degrees.

Meringue

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  1. Beat the egg whites until frothy.
  2. Still beating, gradually add the sugar.
  3. Beat until the mixture has stiffened and is very fluffy.
  4. Pour over custard and top with 1/2 cup coconut. Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned.

Conclusions: This was dubbed the Cloud Nine Pie because the first reaction from my taste tester was, “OMG, it tastes just like a cloud!” I’m sure this is a very accurate description based on the many clouds my friend has tasted.

No, but really, this pie was that good. The crushed pecans in the crust give it a very sweet flavor, and it was actually one of the best pie crusts I’ve ever had. I think the next time I make a crust, I might reduce the amount of butter.

Despite how complicated the custard recipe sounded (to me at least), it’s actually quite simple as long as you follow the steps. I’ve never made a meringue before, either, and this was surprisingly the easiest part. Each layer of the pie was scrumptious on its own, and together, this pie was an absolute dream.

This recipe was also featured as a guest post for At 350 Degrees! Check out the post here.

IMG_5501

Link Parties:

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Still Being Molly’s YOLOMonday Link Up

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Trick or Treat Tuesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Riverton Housewives’ Roundup

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Mrs. Happy Homemaker’s Bulletin Board

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

23 thoughts on “Cloud Nine Pie

  1. Mmmmm this looks yummy! I haven’t made a ‘real’ pie yet, I like to make mini pies, and I have a coconut cream mini pie recipe I love, but adding pecans sounds yummy!
    Thanks again for linking io to our Crafty Thursday Obsessions party!

  2. Pingback: Cloud Nine Coconut Pecan Pie (GUEST POST!) | at350degrees

  3. Pingback: Sunday Sweeties 3/31: Easter Links | Teenage Cakeland

  4. Yummy! I love coconut and pecans, so this is a winner in my book! I am a new follower and found you on Ginger Snap Crafts. Would love for you to visit me at Still Woods Farmhouse. Make sure you bring this pie and I will make the coffee!!

  5. Pingback: Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a comment