Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Okay. I know I may have thought that my German Chocolate Cake was the best thing I’ve ever made, or even my Cloud Nine Pie.

But these pancakes are. Without a doubt. The best thing I have ever made.

Caramel pecan cinnamon roll pancakes.

Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

I’ll say it again.

Caramel pecan cinnamon roll pancakes.

This is not your average-everyday breakfast we are talking about.

I actually made these while I was supposed to be making goat cheese biscuits for Sundays with Joy, but I couldn’t find my goat cheese, and I decided to make pancakes to make myself feel better. The recipe for cinnamon roll pancakes from Recipe Girl had always caught my eye, and it got me thinking about all the different types of cinnamon rolls that had been developed…so why not turn one of them into a pancake? After perusing several cinnamon roll recipes, I decided to base my pancakes off these caramel pecan cinnamon rolls from Mom on Timeout and caramel apple cinnamon rolls from Sally’s Baking Addiction.

First make the cinnamon filling. Melt 1/4 cup butter all the way in a liquid measuring cup and stir in 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 cup plus 2 tbs brown sugar.

Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

The mixture will be very thick, especially after sitting for a minute.

Next make the caramel icing. Over medium heat, melt another 1/4 cup butter and then add 1/2 cup brown sugar, a pinch salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 2 1/2 tbs heavy cream. Stir constantly until the sugar is dissolved, then let it heat for 3-4 minutes.

Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

Remove the pan from heat and set aside.

For the pancake batter, I was in a bit of a rush, so I used Bisquick, but I added 1 tbs maple syrup and a pinch of salt to the batter.

Ladle about 1/3 cup batter per pancake onto a heated and greased griddle (or more or less, depending on what size pancakes you like). Pour the cinnamon filling onto the pancake in a swirl. Start the swirl a little bit off the edge of the pancake, so it does not drop off and onto the griddle. If it does, it’s fine, it’s just not as pretty. Sprinkle chopped pecans into the swirl.

Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

When the batter is bubbling and one side is golden, flip the pancakes. Cook until both sides are golden, and flip onto a plate. You can store the already-made pancakes in a warm oven until ready to serve. Eat the pancakes with a generous helping of the caramel icing, which you may need to heat again to make pourable.

Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

I shot these pictures outside, in the twilight at like 7pm. I think they came out pretty well 🙂

My little sister, who hates any type of variation on traditional pancakes, tried one of these and immediately asked me to make them again. My friend drove across town when she heard about these just to have one. There is no way you can be unhappy while eating them.

Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Cinnamon Filling from Recipe Girl

  • 4 tbs butter
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1/2 tbs cinnamon

Melt the butter in a liquid measuring cup. Stir in brown sugar and cinnamon. It should be sticky and very thick, like toothpaste.

Caramel Icing adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction and Mom on Timeout

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbs heavy cream
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Melt butter over medium heat. Add in brown sugar, cream, salt, and vanilla, stirring constantly until the sugar has dissolved. Heat for 3-4 minutes more, then remove from heat. The icing will thicken as it cools, so you may need to heat it again before pouring it over the pancakes.

Pancakes

  • 1 cup Bisquick mix
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk of your choice
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 tbs maple syrup
  • Or use your favorite pancake recipe!
  • Chopped pecans
  1. Mix together all pancake batter ingredients until well combined, but still lumpy.
  2. Ladle about 1/3 cup batter per pancake onto a heated and greased griddle.
  3. Pour the cinnamon filling in a swirl on top of each pancake. Sprinkle on chopped pecans.
  4. Cook the pancakes 2-3 minutes, until the batter bubbles on top and is golden on the bottom. Flip carefully.
  5. Cook 2-3 more minutes, until both sides are golden.
  6. Store in a warmed oven until ready to serve.
  7. Heat caramel icing until pourable, then ladle on top of pancakes.
  8. Serve with a smile!

Conclusions: The dreamiest, most amazing pancakes ever created. In the history of mankind. You may have noticed that most of my recipes are low fat or at least make some kind of attempt at being healthy, but these pancakes do no such thing. They are pure sugar and butter. Decadence. This is more dessert than breakfast. Then again, I have dessert for breakfast like everyday. So it’s all good. The pecans and cinnamon and caramel just all blend so well, and yet each brings its unique flavor into the mix to create a heavenly taste. This recipe can and should be used whenever you want to impress someone. Serve them for your boss. Ask for a promotion. Let me know how it works out 🙂

20130408-220628.jpg

Link Parties:

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

16 thoughts on “Caramel Pecan Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

  1. These look SO good! Especially that caramel icing/glaze on top. I love waking up to pancakes in the morning. caramel, pecans, cinnamon – my favorites all in one!

  2. What a delicious breakfast! Looks delightful…and decadent! Thanks for sharing with Make Bake Create!

  3. Holy yum – I think these are the most delicious, brilliant, decadent pancakes I’ve ever seen in my life. I’m a glutton for pancakes and cinnamon buns and I love that I can now have them combined into one sugar-coma-inducing meal 😉

Leave a Reply

