Oreo Peanut Butter Cake Pops

I recently had a cake mishap.

I came across a few recipes for an Oreo cake on Pinterest and I was soo excited to try them, because Oreos are one of the most beautiful things on this planet (along with waffles, cupcakes, caramel, chocolate in general..). So I made this incredibly beautiful cake: a layer of cookies and cream cake between two layers of chocolate, with a ricotta cookies and cream filling, all covered in chocolate buttercream, and I decorated it all pretty. Not to brag, but it was gorgeous. Here’s a picture:

IMG_5270

You may recognize it from my home page.

I was so proud of it, but then I had a piece…and don’t get me wrong, it was okay, but it was completely different than what I imagined. It wasn’t the right texture, and the taste wasn’t that strong. The frosting was very good, but it didn’t make the cake. It was very disappointing.

So what do you when you have a cake-tastrophe?

You make cake pops, of course!!

And let me tell you. These cake pops made me so happy. I like to think that everything happens for a reason, and my cake was obviously destined to be made into cake pops.

I also had some peanut butter melting chocolate on hand, and really there are few better flavor combinations than that of chocolate and peanut butter, and specifically Oreos and peanut butter.

Here are two great tutorials I found for making cake pops, but I’ll also outline all the steps I took in my own way of making them. The first I just found on Youtube but it was super informative:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BcBK2_nKmA

The second is from Bakerella, the cake pop master:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpIifr0VOxY

First, you take your cake and place it into a large bowl, breaking it up into pieces as you go. I had half an Oreo cake that was already frosted, but you can use a vanilla or chocolate cake, whatever floats your boat. I would recommend chocolate for this particular recipe. Use your favorite recipe or an enhanced box mix (see my post on Cheesecake Pudding Cupcakes for the enhanced recipe), or use this recipe Java Cupcake likes: http://javacupcake.com/2012/09/the-best-chocolate-cake-youll-ever-eat/

IMG_5294

Then you get to mash it up. I used a fork first because it was already covered in frosting, but then used my hands to break the cake up further. Make sure the cake turns into fine crumbs.

IMG_5297

Yes, you’re hands will be covered in cake and frosting. You can lick it off later.

Because I was making Oreo cake pops, I of course added Oreos. You can chop them first in a food processor or just break them up really well. Then add chocolate frosting if the cake was not already frosted.

IMG_5299

Make sure all the Oreo and cake pieces are broken up really well. Then make the balls. I recommend using an ice cream scoop, but I just rolled them by hand, trying to make them as even as possible.

IMG_5300

Place them on a tray covered in wax paper, parchment paper, or tin foil, or just leave them in the bowl, and pop them into the fridge for an hour or the freezer for ten minutes to let them solidify.

Take them out and melt a small portion of the chocolate. I used Wilton’s peanut butter candy melts. I get all my cake pop stuff at Michael’s now, where they have this whole baking section that I discovered! Also take out your lollipop sticks.

IMG_5316

Follow the directions on the bag or chocolate bar for melting the chocolate. You might want to melt it in a tall glass so it is easy to dip the cake pops. Once the chocolate is melted, dip the top of the stick into the chocolate and then insert in to the cake ball, then place back on the tray. Repeat this for every cake ball and then put them in the fridge for an hour or the freezer for fifteen minutes. Refrigeration at this point is extremely important so the cake does not fall off the stick later.

Now, melt more of the chocolate (I used almost the whole bag of candy melts) in the tall glass, making sure not to burn it by microwaving it at thirty-second intervals and taking it out to stir. Dip the cake pop straight into the chocolate, covering where the cake meets the stick, and pull it straight up and out. Do not stir or twirl the cake around in the chocolate, or it will have a higher chance of falling apart. Then hold the cake pop over the chocolate and tap your wrist so the excess drips off.

Immediately, while the chocolate is stick melted, dip into crushed Oreos or just spoon the crumbs right over the cake pop.

IMG_5319

Notice how the candy coating did not cover all parts of the cake? Well, I’m not the best cake pop maker when it comes to the dipping step, but covering them with cookie crumbs hides any flaws, enhances the Oreo flavor, and just makes it prettier.

Put the cake pop back on the tray or into a styrofoam block to dry, and you’re done! I mean, you’re done after you finish the rest of the cake pops.

IMG_5325

It’s perfectly acceptable to sample them as you go. I won’t tell anyone.

I had some leftover chocolate, so I also dipped in a cookie in it, which you may notice in the top right of the photo. I need to learn to take better pictures.

Expect that you will have the undying love and gratitude of anyone you give these too.

Oreo Peanut Butter Cake Pops

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a frosted chocolate cake, or 1/2 a chocolate cake and 1/2 cup chocolate frosting (or play it by ear)
  • 6-8 broken up Oreos
  • 1 bag Peanut butter candy melts, I used Wilton
  • Lollipop sticks, I used Wilton also
  • 6-8 Oreos, made into crumbs with a food processor
  • Styrofoam block or tray covered in wax paper or foil
  1. Crumble your cake to fine crumbs using a fork and your hands. Add your frosting a little at a time if the cake is not already frosted, stirring after each addition until the desired texture is reached: sticky and malleable, but still a bit crumbly.
  2. Form balls with your hands or an ice cream scoop and place on the tray or in the bowl, then refrigerate for 1 hour or freeze for 15 minutes.
  3. Melt a small amount of peanut butter candy melts in a tall glass, following the instructions on the chocolate bag. Dip the tip of a lollipop stick into the chocolate, then insert about halfway into the cake ball. Place back on the tray and repeat with each cake ball, then refrigerate for another hour of freeze for another 15 minutes. This is very important.
  4. Melt the remainder of the candy melts in the glass. Dip the cake pop straight in and out of the chocolate. Do not twirl. Then hold the pop over the glass and tap your wrist to remove the excess chocolate.
  5. Have fine Oreo crumbs ready in a bowl, and dip the cake pop into the crumbs, or spoon them over the cake pop. Place the pop onto a styrofoam block or back on the tray to dry.
  6. Try not to eat them all in one sitting.

Conclusion: Incredible. You’ll thank me later. Also, cake pops are great to give out to a class or large group of people, because one cake can make so many of them (just make sure there are no peanut allergies!). There are hundreds of varieties of possible cake pops, with different cakes, frostings, candy coatings, and toppings. But make these, because they’re the best.

IMG_5327

Any special cake pop tips? Do share. Happy baking!

This recipe is linked to the following link parties:

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Roxana’s Home Baking Chocolate Party

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party 

Mrs. Happy Homemaker’s Bulletin Board

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Trick or Treat Tuesday

10 thoughts on “Oreo Peanut Butter Cake Pops

  1. Yummy! Darn, if only I’d read this post earlier. I had a total cake-tastrophe the other day and I felt it was so inedible, I threw it away. I HATE wasting food. If I’d have known I could’ve made these amazing cake pops, I totally would’ve. I love the ingenuity here and you just can’t go wrong with chocolate, peanut butter and oreos.

    • Thank you!! I’m totally with you, wasting food makes me cry. In fact today I tried making seven minute frosting and it didn’t really work the way I wanted it to, so i just stuck it in the fridge…I’m thinking I’ll bake it into something somehow! I looove your blog by the way 🙂

  2. Pingback: Soft Peanut Butter Cookies | Teenage Cakeland

  3. Pingback: Cake Scrap Cake Truffles | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a comment