Milk Bar Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies

I have an obsession confession: Momofuku Milk Bar. You may recall that I went to a cake class at Milk Bar in May (read all about it here!), and since then, I have the Milk Bar cookbook cover to cover countless times. Christina Tosi is a genius. PLUS, I got to work in the kitchen of Milk Bar for a day at the end of June! It was tough work, and I was sweating A LOT and my feet hurt really bad because I wore the wrong shoes but it was still a breathtaking (literally I was out of breath at one point) experience- so much to do, so much to learn!!

Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies Teenage Cakeland

And, like many others, I have resolved to bake my way through the book. I’ve already made a few recipes that I haven’t shared yet, and it’s been fun. I can’t get over how brilliant everything is.

So the cookies! A perk of working at Milk Bar for a day was a bag of goodies- a slice of crack pie, a bottle of fruity cereal milk, and ten or eleven deliciously soft cookies. I got to try compost, chocolate chocolate, and corn- but not cornflake-marshmallow-chocolate chip or blueberries and cream, two flavors I wanted to taste the most! Rest assured, I fixed that problem quite quickly. I made the cookies myself.

And let me say, cornflake marshmallow cookies are THE BEST cookies I have ever made or eaten.

YOU NEED TO MAKE THESE COOKIES!!!!! I am so serious about this, please make them.

Milk Bar is quirky. Everything they make is multistepped, including the cookies. Do not be discouraged, because every phase contributes to the scrumptiousness. Making cornflake crunch is the first step. There’s nothing hard about this at all, except maybe figuring out what to do with the leftover crunch after you make the cookies. That shouldn’t be too hard, though.

Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies Teenage Cakeland

After the crunch is made and cooled completely, start the cookies. Christina Tosi has a very specific cookie method, which includes creaming the butter, sugars, and egg for a cumulative total of ten minutes. While you are waiting for time to run out, read a book, do some exercise, or prepare the rest of the ingredients. You could also sit in front of your stand mixer and watch.

Add the dry ingredients and mix just until incorporated, no more than thirty seconds! Watch the mixer so you know when the dough is ready. Do the same when adding the marshmallows and cornflake crunch.

Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies Teenage Cakeland

You can’t get any better than this.

Cornflake Crunch

Ingredients

  • 5 cups cornflakes
  • 1/2 cup milk powder
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 9 tbs butter or coconut oil, melted
  1. Preheat the oven to 275 degrees and line a baking tray with foil, parchment, or a Silpat.
  2. In a bowl, crush the cornflakes to about 1/4 their original size with your hands. Toss in the milk powder, sugar, and salt. Toss in the butter or coconut oil until clusters begin to form.
  3. Spread  the crunch onto the baking tray and bake for 20 minutes, until everything smells buttery.
  4. Cool completely.
  5. Store at room temperature in an airtight container for a week, or in the fridge or freezer for a month.

Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies

Ingredients

  • 225 g (16 tbs or 2 sticks) butter, room temperature
  • 250 g (1 1/4 cups) sugar
  • 150 g (2⁄3 cup tightly packed) light brown sugar
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 2 g (1/2 tsp) vanilla extract
  • 240 g (1 1/2 cups) bread flour (use all purpose if you don’t have bread)
  • 2 g (1/2 tsp) baking powder
  • 1.5 g (1/2 tsp) baking soda
  • 5 g (1 1/2 teaspoons) kosher salt
  • 3/4 recipe (3 cups) Cornflake Crunch
  • 65 g (1 1/4 cups) mini marshmallows
  1. Cream the butter and sugars on medium-high for 2-3 minutes. Scrape the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula and add the egg and vanilla. Cream for another 7-8 minutes. The mixture should now be fluffy and off-white, and will have doubled in size.
  2. Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix on low speed until JUST incorporated, for no more than thirty seconds. Watch the mixer so you know when it’s ready.
  3. Mix in the cornflake crunch on low until just incorporated, for no more than thirty seconds. Paddle in the marshmallows for about ten seconds.
  4. Using a 2  3/4oz ice cream scoop or a 1/3 cup measuring cup, measure out the cookie dough onto lined baking trays. I arrange eight cookies onto two large baking sheets. Then, cover the sheets in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour before baking (do not skip this step!).
  5. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  6. Bake the cookies for 18 minutes. The cookies will spread out very far, and will be browned around the edges. Bake for another minutes if they are still pale and doughy on top.
  7. Cool completely and store in an airtight container at room temperature for five days or in the freezer for a month.

Conclusions:

I have so much to say about these cookies. Every single step is essential, so don’t skip anything! The cookies are extremely buttery-tasting and huuuge, which is all part of the experience. They may quite possibly run into each other while baking. Using bread flour is something really important also to help them stay fresh and soft for days, but not completely required. The original cookies have mini chocolate chips, but after tasting some cookies with the chocolate and some without, I decided that omitting it was best. The cornflake crunch and marshmallows provide such a deep, sugary and buttery flavor on their own that I think the chocolate chips ruin it. But if you’re in the mood for chocolate, add it. I brought the whole batch away with me to my friend’s summer house, along with a batch of compost cookies. The cookies had their own duffel, and I stored them in bowls. They rode the Amtrak with me. My friend and I ate about half of the cookies in one day, and the next day the rest were mysteriously gone. The five adults in the house had finished them off. I absolutely cannot wait to make these again and probably will like tomorrow. You can throw the leftover cornflake crunch in some more cookies, these or compost or anything else, or add them to ice cream or cake or pretty much anything. You could also eat the leftovers. No judgment.

Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Be Betsy’s Brag About It

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

6 thoughts on “Milk Bar Cornflake Marshmallow Cookies

  1. Those simply look far too delicious for me to make. I’d eat them all by myself! lol

    Thanks for sharing! Found you through the SITS girls Saturday Sharefest!

    I hope you’ll take a moment to come visit me too over at Desert Momma!

Leave a Reply

