Black Forest Cake

This cake. This is the cake that I was hired to make twice, but that I have never actually tasted. It’s gorgeous and elegant and it must be good because I know a ton of people who love it.

Black Forest Cake Teenage Cakeland

Putting the cake together is a little complex, but refer to my cake assembling tutorial and you should be fine. Once you have the rhythm down, it’s quite easy! The first time I made this cake, I didn’t know how much whipped cream or soak I would need, so I just kept making the whipped cream over and over for each layer. It was really annoying. The second time, I knew exactly what I would do and what ingredients I would need. I was really organized and it was easy. And that’s good for you, because I’ve shared everything I know!

The cake is absolutely amazing. It is my favorite chocolate cake recipe from Java Cupcake, made a little bit lower in fat by using applesauce and a little moister by using oil instead of some of the butter, without compromising the flavor. I love love love picking on the scraps from this cake, and so does my dad. The filling consists of a cherry liqueur soak, cherry pie filling, and whipped cream. You can also add shaved chocolate, if you like. You will also need vanilla buttercream to pipe a rim around the filling and to seal the cake layers together.

Assembling a Cake Teenage Cakeland

To decorate the cakes, I used tip #21 to pipe little swirls on top of the cake, and the same tip but smaller swirls to make a border around the bottom. Maraschino cherries were placed on the swirls on top and everything was sprinkled with shaved chocolate. Of course, you don’t have to be this fancy, but it looks really nice, especially if you’re presenting this cake to someone important.

Assembling a Cake Teenage Cakeland

I wish you the best of luck with this beautiful black forest!

Black Forest Cake

Chocolate Cake adapted from Java Cupcake

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups brewed coffee
  • 1 tbs vanilla
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup sour cream or yogurt, room temperature
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  1. Line with foil or parchment paper and grease two nine inch cake pans, and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Whisk in the applesauce and vegetable oil, then the coffee, vanilla, and cocoa powder until smooth. Remove from heat and set aside to cool slightly.
  3. In a stand mixer, stir the sugar, flour, baking soda, and salt.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk the sour cream or yogurt and eggs until smooth.
  5. Whisk a few tablespoons of the chocolate mixture into the egg mixture until smooth, then pour in the rest in a steady stream, whisking the whole time.
  6. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and here pour the wet ingredients. Stir on low until no more lumps remain.
  7. Divide the batter between the cake pans and bake for 26-28 minutes. Cool in the pans for ten minutes, then transfer to a wire cooling rack to cool completely before assembling.

Filling

Whipped Cream

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 jar maraschino cherries and shaved chocolate, to decorate
  1. Chill the bowl of your (clean) stand mixer and its paddle or whisk attachment in the freezer for fifteen minutes.
  2. Remove the bowl and attachment and beat the cream on medium-high speed until soft peaks form. Add the sugar and vanilla, and beat until stiff peaks form.

To Assemble

  1. See How to Assemble a Cake for tips!
  2. Cut each cooled cake in half. Place the bottom layer on a cake circle and, using a spoon, cover the whole thing in cherry liqueur. Pipe a dam of buttercream around the outside of the cake, then spread 1/3 of the cherry pie filling inside the rim. Top with 1/2 cup whipped cream, spreading this with an angled spatula.
  3. Carefully place the next layer of cake on top of the filling. Pipe buttercream to fill the space between the layers.
  4. Repeat the soak, dam, and filling process until you reach your last layer. Use almost all of the remaining whipped cream to frost the top and sides of the cake, using an angled spatula. To make the frosting smooth, dip the spatula in hot water and wipe it with a paper towel before going over the frosting one last time.
  5. Decorate the cake any way you like. I used tip #21 to pipe 8 swirls of whipped cream on top of the cake and 8 more on the bottom border, then 8 swirls of another color. Then, I sprinkled shaved chocolate around the edge of the top and between the swirls on the sides of the cake.
  6. Store, covered, in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Conclusions:

This cake is fun. First of all, I mentioned that I haven’t actually tried black forest ever, so I can’t say anything about the assembled cake, except that the feedback I recieved was positive. I can tell you that the chocolate cake may be the most heavenly cake you’ll ever eat, and I encourage you to make it every time you need a chocolate fix (I do). The cake is obviously really pretty, so take the time to decorate it! The first time I made it, I used swirls of pink buttercream on the border. The second, I used green buttercream, and also added some colored designs on the sides of the cake. Both times, I matched the writing to the color of the border, because I think that really ties it all together for a great visual. If you make the cake, please let me know how it turns out!

Assembling a Cake Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Be Betsy’s Brag About It

8 thoughts on “Black Forest Cake

      • Ah let’s just say I’ll be going off to a big public school in the Midwest. There are no kitchens anywhere and the main fare is fast food from the cafeteria (kill me now). 🙂 I love your About Me page too! That was some inspirational stuff. Do you do a lot of cooking outside of baking or is baking your thing?

      • Haha I definitely prefer the sauté pan to the oven! I do a little baking but I’ve kind of been scarred by my experiences back when I thought melted butter was the same as creamed butter. But I’m gonna check out some of your stuff and maybe not be so afraid of the oven!!

  1. Gorgeous! I have actually recently baked one, and I wanted to make more layers and more cherry filling inside, so I have cut each of the layers to have four of them. And I like the decoration you’ve made!

Leave a Reply

