My Pacific NW Adventure and its Culinary Significance

Hello!!!! I’m back in New York after touring the Pacific NW for the past two weeks! I can’t say I’m too happy about being back, though. Everywhere I went and saw was so beautiful, and the only things I really missed here were my oven, my stand mixer, and my own shower.

SO. Ready to hear the details of my trip?

We started in Vancouver, British Columbia, where my friend Nancy from Gotta Get Baked shared a few recommendations with me. My dad, sister, and I trekked across downtown Vancouver from our hotel at Canada Place to Granville Island, which houses a cute little indoor market. I sampled tea from Granville Island Tea Company, a peanut butter cookie from Muffin Granny, and both a donut and a crepe from Lee’s Donuts (don’t worry, we went to Granville Island twice; I didn’t eat all this at once!). All are highly recommended, although the crepe was a little hard to eat as I didn’t have a fork and I forgot to grab a napkin (it was worth it). My sister also got a mini loaf of bread from Terra Breads. Pretty sure she ate the whole thing herself.

Muffin Lady

Muffin Lady

Lee's Donuts

Lee’s Donuts

For dinners, we visited The Old Spaghetti Factory and Black Frog in Gastown and Earl’s in Yaletown. All three I loved, although I can’t remember specifically what we all ordered.

Earl's in Yaletown (and my dad on his new iPhone)

Earl’s in Yaletown (and my dad on his new iPhone)

The Old Spaghetti Factory, which I later found out is a chain, was pretty cool because every meal includes a salad, entree, and dessert.

The Old Spaghetti Factory

The Old Spaghetti Factory

While in Vancouver, I ran through Stanley Park, which is a very large park surrounded by a seawall perfect for exercising on. My sister and I also walked to the aquarium in the park and saw the dolphin show and all the animals. I even volunteered to taste jelly fish! It was kind of like fried calimari, if you were wondering.

Eating jellyfish!

Eating jellyfish!

Also, and this was AMAZING, Taylor Swift was in town!!! We didn’t know about this beforehand, but my sister and I ordered tickets from the concierge as soon as we found out! Taylor is my middle school idol and the chance to see her in concert in Vancouver was lucky and incredible. Plus Ed Sheeran opened for her, and he was fabulous, too! He did those whole free-styling thing with only himself and his guitar, and it was really cool.

After four days in Vancouver, we took a bus down to Seattle, Washington. I’m going to live in Seattle, I already decided. First of all, on the afternoon we arrived, I took a run down to the waterfront just as the sun was setting and it was the most beautiful run I have ever taken. There was a tiny park I jogged along for a little with a view of the sun along the water and I actually was laughing because I was so happy just being there. Plus, running at sea level is heavenly. The same night, my dad and I walked over to Top Pot Doughnuts, because we both remembered it from our last trip to Seattle.

Top Pot Donuts

Top Pot Donuts

I had a chocolate donut with maple glaze and it was perfect. There’s such a variety of donuts there that I could go there every day for a month and never be bored, plus there’s a little upstairs area where you can sit that’s just adorable.

Maple Glazed Chocolate Donut from Top Pot

Maple Glazed Chocolate Donut from Top Pot

The next day, I woke up early to visit a few cupcake places. The only one of note was Cupcake Royale, where I found the seasonal blueberry brown betty cupcake very much to my liking. The frosting reminded me of something brown sugar-y from my childhood that I can’t really put my finger on, but it was fantastic.

Cupcake Royale Blueberry Brown Betty Cupcake

Cupcake Royale Blueberry Brown Betty Cupcake

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to go to Trophy Cupcakes, which I really wanted to do 😦 I did grab a cinnamon roll from the Cinnamon Works outside Pike Place Market, though, and I liked that a lot.

Pacific NW Teenage Cakeland

My dad eating some clams at Pike's Place

My dad eating some clams at Pike’s Place

My family and I went to the Pacific Science Center and hung out there for a few hours. It was mostly directed towards kids, but we got a lot out of the exhibits, anyway. Also, we watched a Beatles laser show, where we laid on the floor of the IMAX theater while a laser artist projected lasers to go along with classic Beatles songs. It was pretty cool, and we all learned a lot.

This is where we joined our tour, which would take us down the coast to San Francisco.

Portland, Oregon: Ran right past Voodoo Doughnut but couldn’t stop because the line was out the door and down the block. I was SO disappointed. But this should attest to the fact that they are really good, I’m sure. So, go, and report back to me!

While in Portland, we took a couple of daytrips to Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens. Interesting, but skippable.

The tour stopped for lunch in Newport, Oregon one day, where Mo’s is highly recommended. This little restaurant on the shore is the home of some really really great clam chowder, or so my dad tells me. I also heard their peanut butter pie is super.

Mo's

Mo’s

While in town, I tried a scoop of marionberry ice cream at one of the shops, which was a unique taste that I enjoyed quite a bit.

Pacific NW Teenage Cakeland

Eventually we found our way to San Francisco. The weather surprised me, as it was really cool in the evening and morning. I ran along the Embarcadero and past all the piers, under a bridge, and got a little lost on the way back to the hotel, but it was a gorgeous run nonetheless. I tried a cream puff from Beard Papa one morning, which was good.

Beard Papa

Beard Papa

Kara’s Cupcakes in Ghirardelli Square is a place I highly recommend. The key lime cupcake was beautiful, especially the creamy frosting. It was filled with key lime curd and sat on a graham cracker crust. The crust was a bit crumbly and fell off a tad as I was walking, but I really really liked the cupcake, anyway.

Kara's Cupcakes

Kara’s Cupcakes

My dad kind of wanted some ice cream from Ghirardelli’s but it was insanely expensive, so he skipped it. He and I also took the ferry to Sausalito and walked around a bit. I had some ice cream and my dad went souvenir shopping. The ferry was freezing, but it was a fun ride, with a view of both bridges and Alcatraz and the city. That night, the Mets were in town (!!!), and I convinced by sister to go to the game by bribing her with 6 batches of cookie dough and a cake. I liked that fact that they had veggie burgers at AT&T Field! 🙂 My dad and I spent about an hour before the game walking around outside the stadium. He appreciated all the memoriabilia, as he was a NY Giants fan when he was a kid.

Along the way, I had my first soda in about a year and a half…

NW Pacific Teenage Cakeland

…stood in some redwoods…

NW Pacific Teenage Cakeland

…and rode a cable car!

NW Pacific Teenage Cakeland

Take me back, please.

Phew. That is the end. I just spent about two hours on this post, but it was fun reliving my vacation from start to finish 🙂 I hope I helped some of you with recommendations!

I have a ton of recipes that I’ve been saving to post until I wrote this up, and I’m super excited, so stay tuned!

Link Parties:

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

A Handful Of Everything’s Great Idea Thursdays

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

My Fashion Forward Blog’s All Things Pretty Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Marvelous Mondays

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Be Betsy’s Brag About It

8 thoughts on “My Pacific NW Adventure and its Culinary Significance

  1. It sounds like you had such a fabulous and delicious trip, Dru! I’m so glad you got to try Lee’s Donuts, I love that place. My fave is their peanut donut, droooool… It also looks like you experienced some gorgeous weather which is awesome because 90% of the year, it rains here. I LOVE Seattle too – I go there at least 4 times a year to shop and eat. Trophy Cupcakes are amazing so it’s too bad you didn’t get to go. That just means you need to make another trip. I was shocked by how cold it is in San Fran in the summer the first time I went too. But it’s one of my favourite cities in the world – so beautiful, with many funky eclectic neighbourhoods and food that’s to die for. And it’s very cool you got to see Taylor Swift while you were here. Welcome home!

    • The trip was fantastic, and delicious! I was surprised by the weather, as I thought it would definitely be rainier, but the entire time it was beautiful and sunny! I am absolutely going back to Seattle and SF, as I loved them both 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Wow! You had an awesome, fun-filled, food-stuffed trip! Your pictures are really nice and it’s really fun that you got to see Taylor Swift 🙂

    • Thank you!! And thank you for your recommendations 🙂 it’s sad I didn’t get to go to all the places I wanted to, but my dad would’ve had a heart attack if I had all that sugar haha

  3. Suzanne of Simply Suzannes

    I loved reading about your culinary adventures in the Northwest!
    Isn’t it BEAUTIFUL there! Some of my fondest travelling memories are from Seattle. Vancouver and Portland. Portland had become quite the food mecca.
    So happy you had such a wonderful time!
    Looking at your photos make me want to book a flight!
    Thanks so much for sharing!
    Have a great week,
    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

