Teenage Cakeland on Vacation!

As some of you may know, I’m going on vacation for a couple of weeks, so Teenage Cakeland is taking a break, as well!

I need a little help from my readers. I’ll be going to Vancouver, Seattle, Portland, and San Francisco on my little adventure- and I have not yet made a list of bakeries to visit! If anyone has an advice on bakeries, restaurants, or any other sites that can’t be missed in these cities or the places in between, please let me know with a comment!

I’ll see you all in two weeks šŸ™‚

– Dru ā¤

15 thoughts on “Teenage Cakeland on Vacation!

  1. Have fun! Okay, in SF you, MUST visit Ghiradelli Square, Miette, Bi-rite Creamery, That Takes the Cake, Pacific Puffs, American Cupcake, Kara’s Cupcakes, and Vanilla Bake Shop. In Seattle, there is Cupcakes Royale, Trophy Cupcakes, and Frost. In Portland, you should go to Voodoo Doughnut, and Saint Cupcakes Deluxe. i know it’s a lot, but it’s sugar, so too much is never enough, right? Hope this comes in handy šŸ™‚

  2. This is why I love the blogosphere- I live all the way down under, yet here I am recommending a bakery to you in SF! Acme Bread Co. in the Ferry Building is absolutely amazing, I went there on holiday 2 years ago and had one of their cheese sandwiches, woah! It was so good, as was their bread and they had some lovely pastries too! That said, it’s more about bread than pastry, so if you’re looking for more of a patisserie, it might not be the place to go :/ But if you do go, be sure to look around, their are plenty of other incredible foods to be found in the ferry building- there’s the ‘Cowgirl Creamery’ and ‘Blue Bottle Coffee’, just to name a few from memory! Anyway, have an amazing trip šŸ™‚

  3. Dru, I was going to get all excited when you said “Vancouver” but then I realized I needed to clarify: are you coming to Vancouver, B.C. (where I’m at) or Vancouver, Washington? If Van BC, I can send you a list of places to eat. In any case, enjoy your vacay – you deserve it, girl! I’m going to San Francisco next week for the fourth time – it’s one of my favourite cities. The other commenters have totally covered all the good San Fran bakeries but also visit Boudin’s at Fisherman’s Wharf. They have a kick ass chowder in sourdough bread bowls (the latter of which they’re famous for). You’re going to have such a fabulously delicious time!

    • Vancouver, BC! I’m here now, in the lobby of my hotel, using the free wifi haha. I heard Thierrys is good, and I’m going there tomorrow, and I visited Granville Island today, which was adorable! Any other suggestions are appreciated šŸ™‚ Im soo excited for SanFran!! I will def go to Fishermans Wharf. Thanks!!

      • Welcome to Vancouver! You’re here just as I’m leaving tomorrow for San Fran! Yes, Thierry’s is good, as well as Ganache Patisserie in Yaletown, Faubourg in Kerrisdale, and Thomas Haas on West Broadway. Did you try Lee’s Donuts on Granville Island? I love that place! Patisserie Lebeau (around Burrard Street and West 2nd) has great Belgian waffles, as well as Cafe Medina downtown. Bella Gelateria is an amazing gelato shop in the Fairmont Pacific Rim – they make everything from scratch using local ingredients so it’s a bit pricy. Ahhhh…so many delicious places to eat in Vancouver! I hope you have a wonderful time here. The weather’s supposed to get better this weekend!

  4. For Seattle: Bakery Nouveau, Crumble and Flake, Honore Bakery for bakeries…I wouldn’t recommend the cupcake places here, honestly…for San Francisco, you absolutely must try Tartine. We got so much food there and I even use their cookbook now. Miette is so-so…Bi-Rite Creamery is another one I bought the book from. Their ice cream had us go back repeatedly in a short time. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

