(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake inspired by Joy the Baker

It’s been really hot here in NY this week. And that makes me soo happy, because, summer!

I have a huge problem with winter. I get cold so easily and I can’t stand long pants. I have no motivation to do anything except bake, which is great for me, but not for my thighs.

But now it’s hot out!! Yay!! Shorts and beaches and no school and a ton of baking.

Except…ovens are really hot, too. And when you have a hot house and a hot oven, it creates a chance of sweat. Yuck.

So this week, I have only baked once. I know, I know. It makes me sad, too.

That’s why today’s Sundays with Joy recipe is so perfect! It’s a cold, refreshing PB&J shake!

(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake Teenage Cakeland

This shake is actually two in one- a peanut butter shake and a strawberry shake, swirled in a glass for a cool mix of flavors. The original recipe from Joy’s book involves a lot of ice cream. I decided to go the healthy route, instead, with a frozen banana and frozen yogurt, and also changed her raspberry part to strawberry.

It’s lighter in calories, but thick as anything and pretty filling. Actually, this shake would be a good post-workout snack, especially with some protein powder blended in.

Make sure you use a frozen banana for the peanut butter part! If you use one at room temperature, it’ll just be a thinner warmish smoothie. Also, cut the banana into small pieces before you freeze it. Don’t make the same mistake I did the first time I froze a banana and just stick it in the freezer, peel and all. It is impossible to get that peel off. Cutting it into small pieces also makes it easier to blend. You should freeze both the banana and the container of yogurt for at least a few hours or even overnight. Mine was frozen for almost 24 hours.

This is the two separate shakes before being swirled…

(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake Teenage Cakeland

..and after…

(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake Teenage Cakeland

(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake inspired by Joy the Baker

Yield: 1 large shake or 2 medium shakes

Peanut Butter Shake Ingredients

  • 1 large banana, cut into pieces and frozen for 2 hours or overnight
  • 2 tbs peanut butter
  • A splash milk (almond, dairy, or soy)

Strawberry Shake Ingredients

  • 6oz container Greek yogurt, frozen for 2 hours or overnight (I used strawberry Chobani)
  • 3-4 medium strawberries
  1. Blend all of the peanut butter shake ingredients in a blender. You may need to scrape the bottom of the blender with a rubber spatula or spoon to ensure even blending. Pour the shake into a tall glass and place in the freezer.
  2. Blend all the strawberry shake ingredients. (You don’t have to clean the blender first!) Pour into a glass and place in the freezer with the other half of the shake.
  3. Take out a large glass or two smaller glasses. After ten minutes, remove the two halves of the shake from the freezer. Starting with the strawberry shake, alternate filling the glass with the strawberry and peanut butter shakes until both are used up.
  4. Serve with a straw, and maybe some whipped cream and a cherry on top?

Conclusions:

I’ve never used a frozen banana or home-frozen yogurt in a shake instead of ice cream before, so I’m really glad it worked out! This shake was as thick as the actual kind, although I must admit it wasn’t as frosty cold. The peanut butter and strawberry flavors combined perfectly in an extremely refreshing way. I really like Joy’s idea of swirling the two separate shakes, because it’s not like one flavor overpowered the other; they are kind of drank alternately, until they dissolve into each other, which is really nice, too. I would drink this any day of the summer.

Don’t forget to buy Joy’s book!!!!

(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Be Betsy’s Brag About It

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create

The Taylor House’s Pinterest Power Party

Hope In Every Season’s Homemaking Party

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

My Fashion Forward Blog’s All Things Pretty Thursday

A Peek Into My Paradise’s TGIF

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

20 thoughts on “(Healthy) PB&J Swirl Shake inspired by Joy the Baker

  1. I know how you feel – I’m so happy the weather is warming up now! Although I feel all those pounds I put on over the winter from all the baking, oy! Even though it gets smoking hot, I still bake in the summer, which is insanity. I should make more of these shakes – it sounds delicious! I love that you lightened it up. My waist thanks you 😉

    • Your waist is welcome! Of course baking in the summer is an absolute must. It’s a necessary sacrifice. I’m really praying my A/C will be turned on soon so it wont be that bad haha.

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Week Recap | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a Reply

