Coconut Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits inspired by Joy the Baker

Sundays with Joy…a week late.

Last week, the Sundays with Joy recipe was Whole Wheat Honey and Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits. But I’m busy. I have a social life. I have AP Chem tests. Better late than never. And this is a great recipe! You’ll be happy I posted it.

Coconut Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits Teenage Cakeland

I love honey and I love whole wheat, but I hate goat cheese. A lot. So I was a tad apprehensive about using it in biscuits. But they actually turned out really well! They weren’t the dry Bisquick biscuits I was used to from my mom. They were actually moist, and really tasty.

The goat cheese flavor was very subtle. As my dad noted, the predominant flavor is coconut, which was achieved by the coconut butter I substituted into the recipe. I just bought a giant jar of coconut butter and I was itching to use it, so I figured these biscuits would be my guinea pigs. The verdict: I love coconut butter.

I also added some walnuts to Joy’s recipe, for a crunch. A very pleasing addition.

Coconut Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits Teenage Cakeland

Joy suggests making biscuits in a ten inch cast iron skillet, but mine was MIA, so I used a ten inch springform pan, sprayed with Pam. It worked the exact same way, so do either.

And some news: over spring break, I visited the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, and I fell head over heels in love with it!!!! <33333 I can’t see myself going to college anywhere else. With junior year wrapping up, I’ll be filling out applications soon, and culinary school may be in my future…

I’m sort of scared to tell my counselor and teachers that I want to be a baker, though. What if they’re disappointed in me? Ahhhh!

Maybe if they try one of these biscuits while I tell them, they’ll take it more easily…

Coconut Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits Teenage Cakeland

Coconut Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits inspired by Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, plus more for pan, added in small pieces
  • 4 tablespoons goat cheese, added in small pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk, or place 1 tbs white vinegar in a measuring cup and cover with almond milk up to the 1 cup line
  • 2 tbs honey
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup toasted coconut
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place a ten inch cast iron skillet or springform pan in the upper third of the oven as it preheats.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. With your hands, quickly incorporate the coconut oil and goat cheese until the mixture resembles coarse meal, with some flakes of ingredients larger than others. Make a well in the center.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk buttermilk and honey (it’s okay if the two do not completely dissolve).
  5. Add the buttermilk to the well in the flour mixture along with the coconut and walnuts. Blend well with a fork until there is no dry flour remaining, but not past this point. Try not to unnecessarily overmix!
  6. Remove the hot skillet or pan from the oven and grease with Pam or 1 tbs coconut oil.
  7. Drop 1/4 cup batter per biscuit into the pan. About seven biscuits will fit with about an inch between them, but they will grow and touch each other as they bake.
  8. Bake 14 to 16 minutes, until the tops appear golden, firm, and dry. Remove from the oven and cool for 5 minutes, then relocate to a cooling rack and repeat with the remaining batter. Brush the biscuits with slightly warm honey for a glossy finish.
  9. Serve warm, preferably immediately, and store well wrapped at room temperature for up to three days.

Conclusions:

Give yourself a pat on the back! You made some really good biscuits! I said to myself. Yay! Both the taste and texture were unexpected, as the goat cheese was only subtle and the biscuit was actually moist and not really dry. I looooved the coconut flavor. It added a very unique touch. For four days straight, I had one of these biscuits for breakfast, and they were actually very filling. I made it the full four hours to lunch without being hungry. To serve, I cut a biscuit in half, lightly toasted it, dropped about three or four tablespoons cottage cheese on one half, sprinkled it with walnuts and honey, and ate it like a sandwich. If it wasn’t moist before, the cottage cheese definitely removed any memory of the dry, non-homemade texture I had usually associated with biscuits. This one’s a keeper. I actually cannot get over what a genius Joy Wilson is. Buy her book!!

Link Parties:

Sundays with Joy

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

4 thoughts on “Coconut Goat Cheese Drop Biscuits inspired by Joy the Baker

Leave a Reply

