Take 5 Layer Bars

Who here loves Take 5? I love Take 5. It is my favorite candy ever. Every Halloween I get about three Take 5 bars and steal about two more from my friends, then hoard them for the next month. And it’s really sad because then I eat them and I have none left.

What’s not to love…caramel, pretzels, peanut butter, peanuts, and chocolate, all wrapped up into one bar? There is no other candy more perfect.

When I found out the Behind the Curtain Dessert Challenge ingredients were caramel and pretzels, I knew Take 5 had to be involved. So these happened…

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

Consisting of: crushed pretzel crust, peanuts, peanut butter cookie, butterscotch sauce, and chocolate ganache.

Good thing I went running today.

For the crust, crush pretzels in a food processor to make 1 cup, combine with butter (or applesauce for the classic Dru lower-fat version) and 1/2 tsp salt, and press into the bottom of your pan.

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

Then sprinkle 1/2 cup salted peanuts all over the crust.

For the inside, I used my trusty soft peanut butter cookie recipe, and pressed it on top of the peanuts. You will only need half of it, so make cookies with the rest! Or a cookie pie, another of my go-to recipes.

That was the easiest part of the recipe. This is a decadent one. Get out your party pants.

Because now we get to make the butterscotch sauce! Yay! Did you know butterscotch is almost the same as caramel, except with brown sugar instead of white? The recipe I used also has a little more heavy cream. Making butterscotch was less difficult than making caramel, and definitely worth it, but you can always substitute storebought butterscotch or caramel.

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

It will get very bubbly…

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

And then smooth out. Pour this all over the baked and cooled cookie layer, then make the chocolate ganache, and pour it on top.

Refrigerate the bars at least thirty minutes before cutting them to ensure the ganache and caramel firm up. I refrigerated mine overnight and they were perfect in the morning.

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

I love you, Take 5.

Caramel Pretzel Peanut Butter Cookie Bars

Crust

  • 1 cup crushed pretzels
  • 5 tbs melted butter or applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients and press into the bottom of a greased 8×8 pan.

  • 1/2 cup salted peanuts

Sprinkle over crust.

Peanut Butter Cookie

Prepare cookie dough. Spread half of it over the crust. (Make cookies with the other half!) Bake for 15 minutes, or until the edges of the cookie are golden. It will look undercooked. Allow to cool completely.

Butterscotch Sauce from Brown Eyed Baker

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Alternatively: Homemade Salted Caramel or storebought butterscotch sauce or caramel

Melt the butter in a medium pan over medium heat. Add sugar, cream, and salt, and stir until well combined. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat slightly and let boil for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and add vanilla. Let cool five minutes, then pour over cooled bars.

Chocolate Ganache

  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

Melt chocolate chips in the microwave for 1 minute. Stir, then microwave at 30 second intervals, stirring after each, until completely melted. Add heavy cream and whisk to combine. Pour over bars.

Refrigerate at least 30 minutes before cutting into bars.

Conclusions:

If you can’t ever find Take 5 candy bars, like me, this dessert is a very worthy substitute. My favorite part of the candy bar was always the saltiness that the pretzel brought to contrast the sweetness of everything else, so I definitely wanted to capture that in this recipe. I also like how the crunchiness of the peanuts stands out against the smooth texture of the cookie, butterscotch, and ganache. The separate steps and layers were really fun to make, but there are several substitutions possible for this recipe and any other layer bars. When I make these again, I’ll take about five. LOL, get it? Okay, enough corny jokes from me. Even my mom, the dessert-hater, fell head over heels in love with these bars. So prepare yourself.

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

Take 5 Layer Bars Teenage Cakeland

This post may be shared at:

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

DC In Style’s Spicy Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

The Velvet Moon Baker’s Sweet and Savoury Sunday

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Bubbly Nature Creations’ Make Bake Create


Lady Behind the Curtain Dessert Challenge

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

22 thoughts on “Take 5 Layer Bars

  1. Whoa baby! This is one serious bar – I’d be in heaven if I had a pan or two right now to munch on. I don’t think I’ve ever had a Take 5 bar but it sounds delicious – what’s not to love in there? I’m planning on making a bar cookie very similar to this this weekend – I can’t wait for this day to end so that I can get my bake on!

Leave a Reply

