Carrot Cake Pancakes inspired by Joy the Baker

Confession: I’ve never had carrot cake before.
Confession #2: I’ve never made homemade pancakes from scratch. Before this.
Is that sad? A sixteen year old food blogger who’s never had carrot cake or made pancakes from scratch? Yes, yes it is. But these pancakes changed all that.

Carrot Cake Pancakes Teenage Cakeland
As I said in my first Sundays with Joy post, Joy the Baker is a genius. I want to marry her book. I am going to make every single one of the hundred recipes in it.
This week, the Sundays with Joy recipe was carrot cake pancakes. I was a little skeptical at first, because I hate carrots with a heated passion, so I wasn’t sure if these would turn out good or carrot-y or cinnamony or what.
I have to say, these may be the best pancakes I’ve ever had. Even my hard-to-please taste testers (my best friends Jess and Teresa) (hey guys) absolutely loved them, and loved the cream cheese frosting that we spread on top.
The most difficult part was grating the carrots. From 12-1:15 in the morning, I was grating carrots. On a Friday night. Two cups of grated baby carrots. Never again.

Carrot Cake Pancakes Teenage Cakeland
After that, it’s just a matter of making the rest of the batter, making the frosting, and admiring your work.
The best part was, I didn’t cook all the batter yesterday, so I got to enjoy these pancakes again this morning 🙂 If you like, you can make the batter the night before and let it sit overnight in the fridge, then fry them up in the morning.

Carrot Cake Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

Everything is better with chocolate chips.

Carrot Cake Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

And cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake Pancakes inspired by Joy the Baker

Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup oat flour- place rolled oats in a food processor until fine, then measure
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 grated nutmeg
  • 1 pinch ground ginger
  • 2 tbs chopped pecans
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tbs white vinegar + 1 cup almond milk- place vinegar in a measurinf cup and fill with almond milk up to the 1 cup line to make almond buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • Chocolate chips, if desired
  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Keep pancakes you have already made in the oven until ready to serve.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and pecans.
  3. In a small bowl, beat egg, then whisk in brown sugar, buttermilk, and vanilla. Add grated carrots.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until barely combined. The batter will be lumpy.
  5. Coat a griddle or frying pan in Pam or canola oil and set pan to medium heat. When hot, drop 1/4 cup batter for each pancake onto the surface and sprinkle with chocolate chips. Flip when the top is golden, and when both sides are golden, flip onto a plate to serve or store in the oven.
  6. Serve warm topped with cream cheese frosting.
  7. Leftover batter can be stored in the fridge and made another day. Alternatively, make the batter a day ahead, chill overnight, and fry pancakes the next morning.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2-3 tbs almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • Dash cinnamon
  1. Whisk cream cheese until smooth, with no lumps remaining.
  2. Add in all other ingredients and whisk until smooth.
  3. Spread on top of pancakes and enjoy!

Conclusions:
I am so thankful I bought Joy’s book. These pancakes were devine and so exceeded my and my taste-testers’ expectations. According to Teresa, these tasted just like the actual spice cake, and the frosting was even better than the one found on real carrot cake. They were moist and reminded me of fall flavors but with a spring-like twist, and didn’t taste like carrots!! The only part I didn’t like was grating the carrots. I think my fingers are permanently stained orange. Next time I am buying pre-grated carrots. And there will definitely be a next time 🙂

Carrot Cake Pancakes Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Sundays with Joy

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

DC In Style’s Spicy Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

14 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Pancakes inspired by Joy the Baker

  1. These look super tasty. I’m going to give them a try cuz I love carrot cake, pancakes, and cream cheese frosting. Congrats on trying two new things. 🙂

  2. how fun! I LOVE carrot cake… one of my favs… this sounds like a super way to have it! Thanks for linking up to Tasteful Tuesdays! love it! Really appreciate you stopping by my blog! I’m trying to keep in better touch with my linkers/readers… If you already follow me, please let me know I will find your blog on Bloglovin (I’m transferring my follows there)if you don’t follow in any way, would you consider following via GFC or other method?
    http://www.nap-timecreations.com

  3. Stopping by from Nikki’s link party! These look sooo delicious! I never thought to make almond buttermilk like that but I think I’ll definitely try that in the future when I’m making buttermilk recipes dairy free =)

  4. Great idea! And you could almost call them healthy because they include carrots, right? Thanks for partying with us at Time To Sparkle!

  5. Visiting from the link party. =) These look DELICIOUS! Totally going to make these soon. I LOVE carrot cake! am co-hosting {wow me} Wedenday and featured your project on my blog today!
    You can find it at lebaroninteriors.blogspot.com. Thanks again.

    Kayla

Leave a Reply

