Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding

Are you sick of Saint Patrick’s Day recipes yet? Well, you’ll have to hold off a little longer. Because this is definitely something you’ll want to make.

Especially if you have leftover Irish soda bread! Do you know what you can do with leftover Irish soda bread?

You can make Irish soda bread pudding.

Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding Teenage Cakeland

Intriguing, isn’t it.

After having a loaf of Irish soda bread sitting on my counter for two days (post-St. Patrick’s Day), I decided it would much better serve me if it were pudding. Plus, I’m on a sugar fast this week, and I could easily give away the pudding to some fortunate souls. I’ve never made bread pudding before, or even eaten it, so I wasn’t sure what exactly to expect. The results made me quite happy 🙂

I first took my Irish soda bread loaf and cubed it. It was a chocolate soda bread from Baking Bites that was quite tasty.

Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding Teenage Cakeland

Then I made a custard based off two recipes I found. It was relatively easy compared to the custard I made for my Cloud Nine Pie, which I was thankful for. I poured the custard all over the bread and let it soak for ten minutes, then baked the pudding for twenty five minutes until it was no longer jiggly, and more like a thick, moist, um, thing.

Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding Teenage Cakeland

A very delicious thick moist thing!

This bread pudding should most definitely be served still warm, preferably soon after it has been released from the oven, and preferably with whipped cream, powdered sugar, and ice cream on top.

Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding Teenage Cakeland

Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding with general recipe structure inspired by Joy the Baker and Foodness Gracious

Ingredients

  • 4 1/2 cups cubed Irish soda bread, lightly packed- I used Chocolate Irish Soda Bread
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 4 eggs
  • Pinch salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. Arrange the cubed bread in the pan.
  3. In a medium saucepan, heat milk until almost boiling.
  4. In a medium bowl or stand mixer, whisk eggs, salt, and sugar.
  5. Slowly add milk to egg mixture, whisking the whole time.
  6. Add vanilla and chocolate chips, and continue whisking until the chocolate has melted.
  7. Pour mixture evenly over the soda bread cubes. Make sure each has been coated with the liquid.
  8. Let sit for ten minutes, then bake for 25-30 minutes, until the top is dry and the pudding has set.
  9. Cool for about twenty minutes and serve warm with powdered sugar and whipped cream.

Conclusions: For the first time making bread pudding, I’d say this was pretty successful. The chocolate and cinnamon fused together beautifully, and the texture was moist enough to call it pudding but dry enough to be eaten with a fork or as finger food. Making this lower fat by using almond milk and no butter was a plus, too, that still yielded a great flavor. I most definitely want to explore bread pudding more-maybe something with peanut butter? Also, this was a great way to use up my leftover Irish soda bread 🙂

Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding Teenage Cakeland

Link Parties:

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

DC In Style’s Spicy Thursday

The Best Blog Recipes Weekend Retreat

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Time to Sparkle

Ginger Snap Crafts’ Wow Me Wednesday

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Irish Soda Bread Pudding

  1. Pingback: Baking Bucket List | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a comment