Coconut Dutch Baby inspired by Joy the Baker

Welcome to my first post for Sundays with Joy!


Sundays with Joy is a group celebrating the cookbook by Joy the Baker by choosing a recipe to feature each week. I joined this group just recently, ordered Joy’s book, and proceeded to read it cover to cover in one sitting.
Not only are the recipes original and the pictures breathtaking, but the writing is genius. It’s real and it’s funny and I loved it. I love you, Joy.
The recipe chosen this week was the Toasted Coconut Dutch Baby with Banana and Pineapple. A Dutch baby is like a cross between a giant pancake and a popover, and I’ve never made one before, but it sounded just as close to heaven as you can get within the confines of a breakfast food. I happened to not have (or like, really) pineapple, which was called for in the original recipe, so I omitted it and used only banana. I used threw some pecans on top of the Dutch baby because I do love pecans.

IMG_5737

The most interesting part of making this was toasting the coconut. I’ve never toasted coconut, and it burns quite easily, so I was quite afraid of ruining it. But it turned out great anyway.

I placed the coconut on a baking sheet with tinfoil (because I am perpetually out of parchment paper) and toasted it for four minutes, mixing it halfway to prevent burning.

The cast iron skillet was also new. I’ve never used one, nor did I know what one looked like. I figured it out, don’t worry! I did burn two of my fingers, though, poor things.

Into the oven my Dutch baby went. While it was baking, I sliced a banana to arrange on top. The pancake is supposed to be puffy and slightly brown in the middle, but mine was flatter when I took it out. It was delicious all the same.

IMG_5743

Coconut Dutch Baby inspired by Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 3 eggs at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 banana, sliced
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. 
  2. Spread coconut  and pecans over the baking sheet and toast in the oven about 4 minutes. Remove halfway to mix slightly and prevent burning. Remove and place a cast iron skillet in the oven.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon and salt with half of the coconut and pecans.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar until “thick and pale.” Whisk in the milk. I whisked for a few minutes, just to be sure. (My arms almost fell off)
  5. Add the milk mixture into the flour mixture and stir until just combined. It will be thin.
  6. Take the skillet out from the oven (to all who don’t know, the handle will be hot!!!) and swirl in canola oil so that it covers the whole bottom of the pan.
  7. Pour the batter into the pan (over the oil) and immediately bake for 15-18 minutes, or until puffed and slightly browned in the center.
  8. Meanwhile, slice your banana. I sliced mine very thin, but the size of the chunks depends on preference.
  9. When the pancake is ready, remove from oven and immediately top with banana and the rest of the coconut and pecans. Serve immediately, preferably with maple syrup.

Conclusions: Although I did burn my finger and thumb on the handle of the skillet (silly Dru), I loved making this Dutch baby. As I mentioned before, Joy is a genius and just owning her cookbook is an honor. The pancake does sink quite quickly, though, and is best served warm, but the leftovers are just as tasty. First recipe for Sundays with Joy: Successful.

Link Parties:

Sundays with Joy

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday 

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Still Being Molly’s YOLO Mondays Link-Up

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Trick or Treat Tuesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

DC In Style’s Spice Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

11 thoughts on “Coconut Dutch Baby inspired by Joy the Baker

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cake Pancakes inspired by Joy the Baker | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a Reply

