Sunday Sweeties 3/3: Pancake Oatmeal

I’m sure you’ve heard of oatmeal pancakes, but have you ever had pancake oatmeal?

I pray not, because I sure would like to take credit for inventing it.

As the only one in my family of four who craves pancakes almost on a daily basis, I am often left making a whole batch with no one to share it with (or begging my dad to make it for me). And into the fridge goes the leftover batter, waiting for me for another day.

But, I asked myself on a whim, what if you could turn leftover pancake batter into something else? Like, oatmeal?

As much as I love pancakes, oatmeal is like my savior. It’s healthy, it can be flavored as if it were a pancake, and it’s ready in three minutes. So turn pancakes into oatmeal…it’s the perfect breakfast.

Pour 1/4 cup oatmeal into a bowl and add 1/2 cup leftover pancake batter. You can add in different toppings- I recommend a teaspoon of maple syrup, a sprinkling of cinnamon, a few walnuts or pecans, and half an apple or banana.

20130303-140710.jpg
Pop in the microwave for two minutes, check doneness, and cook one more minute if needed.

20130303-140906.jpg
Add maple syrup, sugar, and fruit.
Enjoy!

Link Parties:

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Mrs. Happy Homemaker’s Bulletin Board

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Flour Me with Love’s Mix it Up Monday

Jam Hands’ Recipe Sharing Monday

Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ Melt in Your Mouth Monday

Still Being Molly’s YOLO Mondays Link-Up

Pint Sized Baker’s Two Cup Tuesdays

Nap Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays

Inside BruCrew Life’s Trick or Treat Tuesday

Mom on Timeout’s Your Creative Timeout Party

Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cooking Wednesday

Glued to My Crafts’ Crafty Thursday Obsessions

The Crafty Blog Stalker’s Blog Stalking Thursday

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

11 thoughts on “Sunday Sweeties 3/3: Pancake Oatmeal

    • Thank you! This was definitely a really yummy mixture of pancakes and oatmeal, and if you want more ideas, Chocolate Covered Katie has a ton of super good looking oatmeal recipes on her site!

  1. Delicious and not even too complicated for my domestically challenged self. And perfect to go with the brand new, local maple syrup we got this sugaring season.

  2. I would totally eat pancakes with you every day! Then, neither of us would be able to fit through the door, so maybe that’s not such a stellar plan. I like your little invention here much better. Can’t wait to have some leftover batter now to try! I always use all of the batter and then freeze the pancakes we (I) don’t eat. Be sure to wrap them individually though because they’re impossible to break apart once they’re frozen.

    • Hahaha definitely try this next time! I never liked frozen pancakes, which is part of the reason why I invented this. I just make them once…and have them every day for like a week lol

  3. Pingback: Cake Scrap Cake Truffles | Teenage Cakeland

Leave a Reply

