Sunday Sweeties-Eggs in a Nest Grilled Cheese 2/24/13

Good morningggg! Or afternoon…sorry, I’m in high school, sleeping ’til noon on the weekends is my job.

Sometimes I wake up and have pancakes, sometimes I have grilled cheese.

I was feeling the grilled cheese today.

So I found this recipe! It’s from Chocolate, Chocolate and More Chocolate. Kind of like the famous egg in a nest recipe, except with grilled cheese. Totally wow.

IMG_5514

I made this twice, once for my dad on bagel and once for my sister on sourdough bread (stealthily taste testing both, of course). And they were both pretty simple and totally amazingg.

Take two slices of bread and cut out a hole in the middle of each (or one, if you just want one egg). You can use a cookie cutter if you have one, but a knife works just as well.

IMG_5507

I tried to be cute.

Warm a frying pan and grease with a tablespoon or so of canola oil or butter. Twirl the pan so the entire thing is covered in oil. Then place the bread slices in the pan. Crack an egg into the hole in the bread.

IMG_5508

I found it easier to flip if the yolk of the egg was broken. Break the yolk by poking it with a fork of spatula.

Cook the slices until lightly browned on the other side, then flip. I have flipping issues, so I use to a fork and a spatula to aid me.

Then cover each piece of bread with a slice or handful of cheese.

IMG_5509

Wait until the egg has cooked through, then flip one slice on top of the other. Be patient and flip onto a plate when the cheese is melted and gooey and beautiful.

IMG_5510

I placed the heart I cut out of the bread in the beginning on top of the egg, too cute!

IMG_5511

This was puuuurfect. And delicious. Go make it.

Egg in a Nest Grilled Cheese from Chocolate, Chocolate and More Chocolate.

Ingredients

  • 2 slices of bread or a bagel cut in half
  • 1 tbs canola oil or butter
  • 1 or 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of cheese or 2 handfuls of shredded cheese
  1. Warm a frying pan. When warm, swirl around oil or butter to cover the entire bottom.
  2. Cut a hole into each slice of bread, or in one slice if using one egg. Spread mayo on each slice, if desired.
  3. Place the bread into the frying pan and crack an egg into each hole. Poke the yolk with a fork or spatula to break it. Cook until the under side of each piece is lightly browned, then flip.
  4. Place some cheese on each slice. Wait until the egg has cooked through, then flip one piece of bread onto the other.
  5. Cook until the cheese has melted and flip onto a plate.

I always eat my grilled cheese with ketchup, but use mustard or nothing at all if you wish.

Conclusions: Besides my usual flipping troubles, this was soo goodd and a clever alternative to regular grilled cheese. I will definitely be making this next week 🙂

Link Parties:

Angel’s Homestead Saturday Spotlight

Six Sisters’ Stuff Strut Your Stuff Saturday

SITS Girls’ Sharefest

Homemaker on a Dime Creative Bloggers’ Party and Hop

Mrs. Happy Homemaker’s Bulletin Board

Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar and Slice Sunday Link Party

Leave a Reply

